top of page


Southwestern Ohio “That’s Our Boy” Award

The Southwestern Ohio “That’s Our Boy” Award is named after Joe Quinn, former sports writer at the Cincinnati Post. Joe retired in October, 1976, after working in the sports department of the Post for 41 years. He was the first to pick a High School All-Star Team, the first to write a column about high school sports, and the first to write about the high school scene on a daily basis.Joe Quinn organized the first meeting of high school coaches in Southwest Ohio; that meeting was the beginning of the Southwestern Ohio Football Coaches Association. As he recalled, “I thought it was a shame the way some people bickered and fought with each other; and if we could get together socially, it might develop some friendliness around the schools.” The first meeting was in the basement of the home of Fred Yeager, the coach at Central Vocational. There were eight coaches present. S.W.O.F.C.A. has grown to be the largest local football coaches’ organization in the state of Ohio. Joe passed away in 1980. We are pleased to honor Joe Quinn by naming the Southwestern Ohio Award: “The Joe Quinn That’s Our Boy Award.”

Northern Kentucky “That’s My Boy” Award

he Northern Kentucky “That’s My Boy” Award is named for Brian P. Williams, a former winner of the award, who died in New York in the World Trade Center on September, 11, 2001. He was 30 years old. Brian was a three sport star and a star in the classroom at Covington Catholic High School. He had an accumulative grade point average of 4.0 and was a three year varsity letterman in football on two state championship teams. Brian was team captain his senior year and was also First Team All-State as a tight end. He was a two-time silver medalist in the discus throw at the Kentucky State Championships and was also a First Team All Conference Basketball player in Northern Kentucky.

Brian continued his football career at Columbia University in New York City where he was a starter at tight end for four years. After graduation Brian began working as a bond trader at Canton-Fitzgerald whose offices were on the
top floors of The World Trade Center. We are pleased to honor Brian Williams by naming the Northern Kentucky Award: “The Brian Williams That’s My Boy Award.”

Past Winners

1962 Tom Kiehfuss - Purcell Ohio State

1963 Paul Erickson - Colerain Cornell

1964 Tom Rhoads - St. Xavier Notre Dame

1965 Gene Otting - Elder Xavier

1966 Dennis Fox - Oak Hills Purdue

1967 Steve Hopping - Sycamore Brown

1968 John Raterman - Elder Notre Dame

1969 Ron Dieckman - Western Hills Harvard

1970 Steve Imhoff - Sycamore Miami

1971 Mark Morelli - Roger Bacon Butler

1972 Doug Crum - Lockland Purdue

1973 Steve Grote - Elder Michigan

1974 John Tuke - St. Xavier Harvard

1975 Scott Schroer - Mariemont Vanderbilt

1976 Tom Berger - Wyoming Eastern Ky.

1977 Tim Koegel - Moeller Notre Dame

1978 Kevin Bates - Wyoming Stanford

1979 Sam Ach - Wyoming Amherst

Jeff Dennis - Wyoming Kentucky

1980 Eric Humpert - Forest Park Ball State

1981 Eric Kattus - Colerain Michigan

1982 Paul Rolfes - Oak Hills Cincinnati

1983 Jim Heiser - Mariemont Duke

1984 Pete Mather - Sycamore Miami

1985 Todd Smith - Goshen U.S. Naval Academy

1986 Sean Apke - Lockland Ohio Northern

1987 Rodney Vincent - Cin. Country Day Brown

1988 Mike Healy - St. Xavier Vanderbilt

1989 Nick Smith - Forest Park Notre Dame

1990 Chris Allen - New Miami Miami

1991 Justin Clark - Williamsburg Ohio State

1992 Craig Wilmhoff -Beechwood Eastern KY

Matt Hirsch - Colerain Cincinnati

1993 Chad Cogswell - Covington Cath. Northern KY

Marc Edwards - Norwood Notre Dame

Scott Sollmann - St. Xavier Notre Dame

1994 Ryan Murphy - LaSalle Illinois

Rob Sandfoss - Newport Cent. Cath. KY Wesleyan

Trevor Speeg - Williamsburg Cincinnati

1995 Jeremy Burns - Campbell County Valparaiso

Ahmed Plummer - Wyoming Ohio State

1996 Cameron Demmerle - Beechwood Centre

Seneca Gray - Holmes Kentucky State

Jefferson Kelley - Colerain Ohio State

1997 Ed Eviston - Newport Central Catholic Georgetown

Danny Jones - Goshen Wilmington

1998 Scott Kuhnhein - Highlands Ohio State

Dan Startsman - Mariemont Brown

1999 Tom Beechem - Covington Catholic Dayton

Austin King - Purcell-Marian Northwestern

2000 Matt Atkins - Newport Thomas More

Steve Sollmann - St. Xavier Notre Dame

2001 Brent Grover - Highlands Purdue

Andrew Willis - Cincinnati Country Day Colgate

2002 Mike Hurley - St. Xavier Yale

Rob Smith - Highlands Tennessee

2003 Brandent Englemon - Holmes Michigan

Brad Maurer - Kings Lafayette

2004 Jeff Wera - Beechwood William and Mary

Josh Kuempel - Mariemont Stanford

2005 Brayden Coombs - Colerain Miami

Trevor Stellman - Conner Thomas More

2006 Mike Scherpenberg - Indian Hill Grand Valley State

Lance Durbin - Conner Cincinnati

2007 Doug Browne - CHCA Vanderbilt

Scott Gray - Ryle Marshall

Matt Frankey - Hamilton-Badin Cincinnati

2008 Fred Craig - St. Xavier Stanford

Cory Farris - Boone County Kentucky

2009 Drake Browne - CHCA Furman

Patrick Van Sant - Covington Catholic Georgetown

2010 Tate Nichols - Ryle Notre Dame

Andrew Perkins - CHCA Ohio State

2011 Jarrett Grace - Colerain Notre Dame

Troy Timmerman - Covington Catholic Air Force

2012 Joe Burger - LaSalle Ohio State

Patrick Towles - Highlands Kentucky

2013 Donovan McCoy - Highlands Kentucky

Dylan Wiesman - Colerain Tennessee

2014 Jon Bezney - Mariemont Yale

Sam Burchell - Covington Catholic Cincinnati

Andrew Way - Conner Dayton

2015 Simeon Lane - St. Xavier Princeton

Ryan Woolf - Ryle Georgetown

2016 Johnny Noyen - CHCA Dayton

Brett Slusher - Beechwood Morehead State

2017 Nicholas Noyen - CHCA Air Force Academy

Hunter Ziegelmeyer - Cov. Cath, Dartmouth

2018 Connor Pohl - Cincinnati Country Day Miami (FL)

Jake Chislom - Ryle Dayton

2019 CaEyre Hall - Withrow Ohio Dominican

Jack Coldiron - Cov. Catholic Miami

2020 Michael Mayer – Cov. Catholic Notre Dame

Alex DeLong Cincinnati

2021 Zach Branam – LaSalle Hight School Naval Academy

Ben Dickhaus University of Cincinnati

Tom Potter Memorial Award of Courage

On occasions when the chapter feels it is worthy, we honor an individual who participates in the great game of football with our Tom Potter Memorial Award of Courage. This award is presented to a person who has overcome great obstacles in his life.

The award is appropriately named the Tom Potter Memorial Award of Courage. Our fellow board member and dear friend, Tom, lived each day of his life with a great deal of courage while possessing an overwhelming devotion and commitment to young people. He truly represented the mission and beliefs of the Greater Cincinnati Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Past Winners

1992 - Mike Pearl, Wyoming High School

1994 - Scott Wiggins, Newport Central Catholic High School

1995 - James Adams, Covington Catholic High School

1997 - Tim Alexander, Dixie Heights High School

1998 - Ben Kelhoffer, LaSalle High School

1999 - Mark Kayes, Winton Woods High School

2000 - George Lewis, Wyoming High School

2002 - Matt Baker, Roger Bacon High School

2003 - Trenton Elliott, Lakota East High School

2004 - Tom Potter (posthumously)

2007 - Ben Johnston, Middletown High School

2008 - Bruce Ernest, Kings High School

2009 - Francisco Michels, Holy Cross High School

2010 - Cory Hardin, College of Mount St. Joseph

2011 - Zach Gelter, New Richmond High School

2012 - Shawn Roberts, Newport High School

2013 - Sam Becker, McNicholas High School

2014 - Dylan Barnett, LaSalle High School

2015 - Ryan Davis, Cincinnati Country Day

2016 - Tanner Dole, Harrison High School

2017 - Noah Kennedy, Colerain High School

2018 - Ryan Brewster, Clark Montessori

2019 - Hunter Fletcher, Little Miami

2019 - Warren Klusmeyer, CHCA

2020 - Tyler Dakin, Waynesville High School

Copy of _DSC3906-2.jpg
Contribution to Amateur Football
Distinguished American Award
Copy of _DSC3987-2.jpg
bottom of page